Cool breezes and warm waters………..

There was nothing unusual about this morning.  My pup, Nity (short for Serenity, but don’t let the name fool you) had me up by 5:00.  She’s young and eager to get the day started and I’m older with, apparently, less need for sleep so we are a good match.   A walk in the park for her,  a cup of espresso for me and we are both content.   It was time to sit out on the deck  and  think of how to spend the rest of my day here on the island of Cozumel.   It didn’t take long to remember that one of the reasons I moved here was the ocean.   Time to pay her a visit.

I packed light.  Towel, book, camera and sun block were tossed into my bag along with a few pesos.  I filled a bucket with water for the pooch, gave her a treat and headed down to a local establishment, the Hotel Barracuda.  For the price of a cup of coffee (although I usually buy lunch as well) I can sit back and enjoy their hospitality.   It was still early so the grounds were quiet and the music was gentle.  I ordered the coffee and picked the table.    For a while I decided that little more needed to be done other than to watch the cruise ships come in.  I was not to be disappointed.  There’s something both regal and calming in their approach.  The crowds come later, but that’s a story for another day.  A breeze was blowing, my coffee was hot and strong.  Can’t ask for more than that.

Now, this isn’t my first morning  sipping coffee and watching ships pass by.  I am beginning to make a habit of it and, as a result, I was able to recognize some of the folks who keep the business going.  Now, this hotel isn’t my only local haunt, but it is becoming a favorite since the people there are just plain nice.   Mike, Tim, and Iris were just a few of those I talked to this morning.  Naturally,  I immediately asked each of them if I could take their pics.   I can’t help it, faces fascinate me.  But, they all happily obliged and, silly them, gave me permission to put their photos in my blog.

As the morning progressed I was reminded of the season.  Spring breakers began to fill the tables around the pool and beer began replacing coffee and juice as the beverage of choice.  By eleven the music was a bit less “gentle”  and the waitresses were moving more quickly.  I could tell it was time to put my book aside.  I was reading “The Prince and the Pauper,”  which is good stuff.  But, I just couldn’t seem to concentrate on Twain’s work while  The Black Eyed Peas sang “Let’s Get It Started.”  Time to grab the camera and get a few shots.

I don’t know who owns this place, but someone sure loves tropical foliage.  There are container plants everywhere one looks.  Going up the stairs to the sun deck,  all around the pool, next to the bathrooms, in between the tables, you name the location and there will be some green with splashes of color.  I happen to be a fan of container plants and, since I’m just starting a deck garden myself, I was busily taking a peek at what seems to thrive in our weather.  Lots of bougainvillae and hibiscus, marbled ivy and palms, even ferns were on display.  You can bet that mental notes were taken.  Oddly enough, I didn’t notice many aloe vera plants, which seem to be a staple around here, but I might have just overlooked them.  It would be easy to do.

While walking around I noticed some folks in scuba gear  heading over to the dock area.   They were calmly walking to the edge and, after  some conversational exchanges and final equipment checks, one by one they jumped into the water.  I’m a snorkeler myself, but I have to admit that I’m beginning to get intrigued by the idea.  And, what better place to learn than Cozumel?  A while later, I started to watch a woman, a novice, who was obviously concerned with taking that first step herself.  She kept going to the edge and then backing away, going to the edge, but you get the idea.  After some encouragement and reassurance from her instructor and, I’m assuming here, her husband, she took the leap and, I’m happy to report, she did just fine.  Then I walked over to the steps that lead down to the ocean, which would be my choice when the time comes,  to see some other folks who were also learning the ropes.  Yea, it’s starting to look like something to add to my list.  Might be time to figure out how to fit some lessons into my budget.

I went back to my table, ordered some lunch and just sat back to watch and listen.  Laughs, splashes, and music competed and all with a backdrop of guys and girls in a variety of florescent beachwear.  I have to admit, I almost wished I could do it all over again.  But, then a girl in an impossible thong walked past a group of guys who could barely pretend to keep their mouths closed while making appreciative sounds and I realized that I’m just too lazy to go through it all again.  Who has that kind of energy?

In fact, it was thinking about those energies that caused me to want to write this. What a difference a few hours can make. From grounds that were tranquil and serene to a determined party with eager guests.  I tip my hat to the employees who kept their patient smiles and, basically, ran to keep up with the demand.  I, on the other hand, was glad that nothing was required of me. I finished my falafels, paid my check and gathered my stuff.  It was time to head back home, do some writing, and see how my shots came out.    Tomorrow will be about much more domestic stuff,  cooking and laundry, but that’s okay.   I’ll still pass on the longing to be that young again.  I already have too much to do.  Salud!

p.s. as always, I do not wish to promote specific businesses and am never compensated…………but I do like to pass along good experiences…………

Leave a Reply

