Learning About Personal Safety……………

photoSo, there I was, sitting on the wall along Melgar, (the main drag here on Cozumel), taking a few pictures of  boats.   Just having a nice day, sipping some coffee and minding my own business when along came some teens looking for some trouble.  First one demanded a cigarette, but I said, “no.”  Then another demanded money.  Again I said, “no.”  But, then the the third one leaned over from his bicycle and said, “f*#k you, puta.”  That was when I stood up and something about my face must have told them that I’d had enough.  They took off, and they took off fast.  But, still it bothered me, it bothered me a lot.  Were they career criminals?  Absolutely not.  Was it an earth shattering event?   Of course not, but I’ve had a couple of experiences over the past six years that weren’t pleasant, to say the least,  and I was done.  I got back home and posted what had happened on a local neighborhood watch site we have and the responses were immediate.  A few suggestions were made, some other comments followed, and, after one thing led to another, the topic turned to “what can we do to keep ourselves safe?”  Next thing I knew an expat, a retired police officer, stepped forward and offered to teach us some safety tips.  Then another expat stepped forward and began to organize the event.  Yep, we are a proactive bunch and we act quickly.  In fact, we just had that class today and I thought I’d take a few moments and share some of what was taught.

1The class was held at Woody’s, a popular local hangout located in el centro.  It is owned and run by Nelly, a great lady who, as she’s done before, immediately wanted to help and agreed to open 2up her backroom for the class.  I’d had a chance to talk with her a little while before everyone arrived and learned that her husband has been having some health issues.  But, she still managed to be bright and cheery, welcoming us in, making sure we all had what we needed before she headed back home to spend time with him.  And, yes, that’s her on the right.

Already in the room was our instructor for the class, Rick Schwend, and his sweet looking wife, Tracey; that’s them on the left.  Now, I say sweet looking because once the class started and we got to see how well she knows 3how to take care of herself, well, let’s just say I wouldn’t want to try and mug her.  In her case, looks can truly be deceiving.  Once the others arrived, and there were ten of us today, Rick introduced himself and gave us some of his history.  It turns out that not only was Rick a police officer in Texas for fourteen years, but he also has had much experience  teaching “Crime Prevention” classes within many environments and received training on the subject from both the CIA and the FBI.   In fact, he’s logged 3,500 hours of training both personally and within classrooms.  With that said, I think we all felt he was qualified for the task at hand.

Now, let me back up a second.  Before class began, and when I’d first walked into the room, Rick told me to remember that I was an ‘A.’  Okay, not sure what that meant, but I noticed he told others as they were arriving that they were either an ‘A’ too, or that they were a ‘B.’  After his introduction he explained what he meant.  Those of us who were an ‘A’ were basically announcing to the world, “please, take my stuff.”  Whereas those with the ‘B’ were basically saying, “hell no.”  Let me mention that this was the first time I ever got an ‘A’ I wasn’t proud of, but it explained a lot.  Rick went on to talk about our lack of awareness of our surroundings and our easygoing mannerisms.  Apparently, he and his wife had intentionally arrived early to watch us come in and, unfortunately, most of us didn’t do too well.

Then he began to demonstrate better ways for us to hold our purses and our backpacks (I’ll get to those in a moment).  His strongest recommendation, however,  was to not carry purses etc.  at all, if possible.  He suggested we try and carry just a wallet with copies, not the originals, of all our important identification, a little money, local store cards, and only one credit card.  The class had officially begun.

Now, to get back to the purses and backpacks, if we must have them, that is.  And, this is where I want to mention two things.  He gave great demonstrations with the help of his wife, Tracey.  However, my camera has been causing me problems so pictures involving any movement will not be clear.  I’ll try and work around that.  The second thing I want to mention is that Rick’s voice could be heard in Cleveland, it’s just that loud.  How I know that I’ll also get to in a second.  So, before I digress any further, back to the purses.

It was explained that purses should always be held on the side away from the street, and kept close to our bodies.  They should never be hung on the hooks that restaurants provide, and not kept on the floor, or on the 4back of our chairs.   Backpacks should be worn in front, not in the back when both walking and riding a bike.  And purses should never dangle when riding a bike.  If one has a basket on the bike, have a lid, or let it be visible that your things are tied down.  But, then, when the question of whether or not a purse should be strung cross body came up, he and Tracey stood up and gave us a demonstration of how dangerous that can be.  Who knew?  Tracey put the purse on the shoulder so it went from the one side to the other and Rick immediately grabbed the top of the purse and made a restraint out of it.  A mugger could easily get more than the purse.  The point was made.

Next he talked about how we carry ourselves.  We should always walk upright, look people in the eyes, and let folks know that we see them.  This, of course, is contrary to anything I’d ever learned while living in New York City where looking someone in the eyes could be considered a challenge.  He also suggested that if we pass a group of folks, or a single person, who looks suspicious that we should go ahead and pass them, but then stop, turn around, and look behind us.  Also, it was made clear that if we feel we are being followed,  use evasive actions.  Go into a store, for example, and wait them out, if necessary.  Stop into a restaurant and get a cup of coffee.  Rick also took time to stress the importance of avoiding patterns of behavior.  Take different routes if you go to the same place daily.  Go different times, if possible.  In other words, since criminals will often watch their victims for a while, make it confusing enough that they won’t find you an easy target and will move on.

5Next, both Rick and Tracey gave some demonstrations of what to do if someone got too close.  And, again, I apologize for the fuzzy shots, but I still think you’ll get the point.  Rick stood behind Tracey and grabbed her from behind, but Tracey immediately “collapsed” to the floor to get away from his grip.   Next Rick grabbed her from behind again, but this time his wife threw herself backwards and, basically, slammed Rick into 6the wall.  And, then, Rick gave us a demonstration of a simple technique that was funny to watch, very loud on the ears, but highly effective.  I almost want someone to try something so I can do this, almost.  Here’s how it went.

Rick played the victim and Tracey played the mugger.  She went to grab his purse and Rick yelled “you want to take my purse?  I can’t believe you are trying to take my purse.  You really think you’re going to get my purse?”  While he was yelling he was standing with his legs a bit wide while facing her and his arms were stretched out with his hands open wide as well.  He showed us that, with the yelling,  the element of surprise might just be all that one would need, but, just in case, his hands were in the perfect position to smack the crap out of the criminal.  I liked that technique.  I liked that one a lot, but if I had the power of Rick’s voice, I’d never worry again.  Wow.

But, another wow was coming.   Remember when I said how sweet Tracey looks?  Well, I will reiterate when I say, I almost feel bad for the person who attempts to rob her.  When asked how far one should go when defending themselves Tracey made it clear that we should do what we can to not be victimized.   It turns out that they share the opinion that our personal safety should be our first concern and to react without hesitation.   Rick also emphasized that the old “kick in the groin” will often prove ineffective, but a wide hand slap will both startle and hurt.   And, they both made a point of emphasizing that one should never take a step backwards when confronted by a situation.  A step backwards is a form of admitting defeat whereas standing one’s ground might just cause the criminal to think twice about continuing his/her actions.  Lots to think about.

At that point class was about over, but I think we were all feeling a bit more empowered.  It managed to be both 7fun and enlightening and I’m glad I attended.  We spent a few more minutes asking a few questions and then we all applauded both Rick and Tracey for the class.  Kudos to them for taking the time to help the rest of us to feel safer.  And, did I learn anything?  Well,  I noticed that I was a lot more aware of folks I passed while coming home.  I made sure I looked them in the eyes, nodded, and kept going.  I also made sure to glance around before I unlocked my gate, and I’d worn my backpack with all the pockets on the inside.   Now, I’m not going to stroll back alleys at midnight, but I think I’ll feel better about myself when I do go out.  And, that’s the whole point, isn’t it?    Salud!

p.s. Thank you Rick and Tracey for an excellent class.  Thank you Nelly for opening up a room for us at Woody’s. (And I hope your husband feels better soon).  Thank you, Paula, for your organizational skills.  And, thank you to the other attendees for making it such a good class.  We have some good folks here!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cherry
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:03:19

    wow that sounds awesome . I would go to another workshop like that when i get back in december. i was slapped on the butt two separate times by a youth on a bike this past spring. he didnt try to get my purse but it sure made me mad and made me more aware of safety issues. thanks for this Celia.

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:08:15

      I’ll make sure to let Rick know that there’s interest, maybe he can hold one later than October so it could benefit more folks when they get back on island………

      Reply

  2. susan elliot
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:38:49

    I would be interested as well…we will be there in December thru March…..hopefully this might become an on going thing!
    Susan

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:47:28

      I’m passing the word along to Rick and Tracey, they seem enthusiastic about the idea of holding more classes………..thanks for reading

      Reply

  3. Luh McDevitt Madera
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:56:05

    Thanks, Celia. It was very informative and Rick and Tracey are an amazing team. I learned a lot and it was entertaining at the same time. Some things I knew, some are instinct as Tracey pointed out and the rest was information that sometimes goes against what we have been told in the past. All of it made perfect sense and it was explained so well by Rick. He is a great teacher and fun too!

    Reply

  4. Valli
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 13:49:39

    Thank you posting. Excellent information. I had a top made for my bicycle basket that I can now close and tie down. The only problem is – at least in my 2 incidents, both were by guys driving by on a moped- so couldn’t make eye contact. But now that I am more aware and constantly on the look- out, I listen for mopeds and if I have a sense something is not right, I get off the bike and pretend to be looking at something or I pull up in front of a house or building. If I was walking and something happens- I am ok with making eye contact or delivering a wide-hand slap but I would worry that I would get hit back or worse. I also would welcome an opportunity to attend a session. I will be on the island a few days into November for a month, then back in January for a longer term. Again, thank you for reporting on such an important issue.

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Sep 13, 2013 @ 13:55:13

      My pleasure, Valli, it was a good class and Rick was both informative and a lot of fun………you should have heard him yell, made me jump out of my chair, highly effective! It looks like there’s quite a bit of interest, and he and his wife seem quite happy to do it, so that’s good news………….thanks for reading, hope you have a great night!!

      Reply

  5. roberto
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 20:10:10

    really a slap in the butt and some one calling you names is a safety issue, really !!! anywhere you go you may have in encounter like this, trust me if some one wanna make you feel unsafe, they can do it, what you police guy teach you maybe was a good idea but it can be useless, ask them how many times they use what they teach and it work, its something you have to remember doing this in front of people that you know is not a threat is easy, doing it in real life is not that simple, you will need cold blood to react and do what you learn, in a moment of danger you blood rush and you brain freeze why because you are not thinking in what you learn, real criminals the ones that will make you feel unsafe they wont try to slap your butt or call you names, and you can find them anywhere in the world included the states also, and they wont try to hug you like the police guy show you so you can head butt them to make them get off you o they wont let the body loose so you can move and do what they teach you, did you learn how to take a knife out some ones hand o how to stop a bullet o take a gun out of some body hands, did you learn how to control you blood pressure and you brain calm do they have done that how that work for them, how many knifes they had take out of some ones hands o guns, what about if is 2 or 5 guys one on one is easier to deal with, came guys just because is mexico and you wanna blow this up as much as you can so people feel sorry for you and they will treat you like it was the most traumatize experience of you life, is not a reason to call it safety issue, now if you start feeling unsafe in cozumel well riviera maya is a bigger place o maybe cancun in those places im sure you will feel safe, o better why don’t you try home im sure in you home towns nothing like this never happen, for things like this is why cozumel is having bad reputation people blow things up, i worked in the navy in the police and i grow in cozumel trust me this is not a safety issue, anywhere you go you will find things like this, i lived in playa, tulum, cancun. chetumal, belize, yucatan, and few places in the states and calling this incidents safety issue is out of place and taking a class because of this, is great to know what to do but we all know here in cozumel every body knows every body and we are people that we will help is some one need it, if you tell some one, if you are cool and you are willing to make friends with the locals and not just in you group of foreigners well it will be hard to help you.

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Sep 16, 2013 @ 08:09:03

      Roberto,

      Let’s just say, it was not a simple “slap in the butt,” or a few teens swearing at me that created the desire for a class. Not everything needs to be written down. But, since this can happen anywhere, as you’ve pointed out, a class is a good idea no matter what, yes? Thanks for reading….

      Reply

  6. Kim
    Sep 17, 2013 @ 06:33:39

    Roberto seems to be offended. I disagree though with the point he made. This is a concern on Cozumel and any place else too. Knowing how to discourage trouble can only be positive. Making friends with foreigners and locals all good, but sometimes you are on your own and it helps to be as prepared as possible. I do not think you dramatized it at all. I think Cozumel is safer than many places in the US in some ways and not so much in others. Most people there are great though and that keeps me coming back year after year.

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Sep 17, 2013 @ 06:43:23

      Hi Kim, thanks for reading and responding. And, it’s always nice to meet another fan of Cozumel. You are right, it is much safer than many places in the u.s., but, yes, we have our issues too. I know that statistics show we are quite safe, but I also know stats fly out the window when something happens to you, or the person you love. Personally, I’m glad to have taken the class and look forward to more. And, it’s good to see folks who are proactive now, rather than later. Again, thanks for reading! Hope you are returning to the island soon………

      Reply

  7. Kim
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 06:56:59

    A quick week to Akumal in November and then job Gods willing back to Coz in May!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

