Going to the jungle

plantsWell, as I’d written several posts back, living in paradise, on the island of Cozumel, can have its ups and downs.  Several weeks past I’d hadlightleaves one of those “down” times, but, as always happens here, many members of our community stepped in to help.  It’s what we do here.  Here’s a quick example, when I’d needed an interpreter, my friend (and landlady) stepped up.  When she had her surgery, I helped her with her daily chores.  Of course, that’s just one example, but I’ve also been on the receiving end of assistance through dengue and a couple of other tropical experiences, but was able to help a couple clean their home after a flooding and watch another friend’s children.  It’s a nice feeling to know that folks care and help is so easily passed around.  Just one of the many reasons that living on the island of Cozumel can be such a great experience.  But, back to my story.

flowerandsilverAfter a rather unpleasant event I’d experienced not too long ago, I received words of encouragement, a flood of emails, folks casually stopping by, one group of very determined women who showed up at my eyeofgoddoorstep with some ideas, and another friend who offered her home in the jungle to just kick back and relax.  I want to say thank you to each and every one of you, and then show some pretty pictures of where I was able to go where it all just came together.

My friend, Moya, and her family, invited me out to their home in the area of the jungle called Las Fincas.  The home is lush, quiet, and a photographer’s dream.  Both Moya and her husband, Sergio, design and hammockbuild houses plus Moya is quite the interior decorator as well, so words alone wouldn’t do their home justice.  As a result, they’ve been kind enough to allow me to post some pics that I took with my new camera.  I think those will help you to understand my point, which is, nature, and friendships, heal all things.  And let me tell you, they have a lot of nature and are truly good friends.

formorningcoffee

neighbors2When you first arrive you drive past some homes of other local residents.  They are quite different from bougenvillaewhere I stayed, but they are surrounded by the same beauty.  Tropical foliage of every kind imaginable, bursts of colors from the Bougainvillea, Birds of Paradise, Morning Glories,  a personal favorite, and a whole lot of flowers that will remain nameless, solely because I have no idea what they’d be called in either language.  After going past some of the neighbors we turned into a long driveway, drove past multiple areas with some completely natural and others nicely landscaped.  There are chickens, horses, and a couple of dogs that are very protective of their family.  But, after a few treats and the tossing of some sticks and coconuts, we got to be good friends.

dog

a2I was able to spend the next four days just relaxing, reflecting, taking photos, talking with Moya, and even had the theboyfriendopportunity for a couple of mini photo shoots.  One with her daughter, Aisha, which was just spur of the moment.  That lovely face you see on the left has no makeup, was not prepped, nor was photoshop necessary.  And, before I get any questions, yes, she has a boyfriend.

I had another shoot with a group of horse racing enthusiasts who are getting their horse, la Fercha, ready for a race to horsedesignbe held here on the 16th of March.  They board la Fercha and her mother at the stables on the grounds.  A great group of guys who just love the sport, and the horses.  I’ll just post one of la Fercha here since I’m hoping to go to the race itself and will put the rest altogether in that blog.

It didn’t hurt that Moya is a good cook either.  And, to top it all off, she is a night person and I’m a morning girl, so we didn’t bump into each other except for the middle of the day when we would have pleasant chats and drink tea, which was, I was assured, the real thing since Moya’s country of origin is England.  Since I’m a complete coffee addict it took her a few days to convince me, but it was delicious.

morningflower

buddhainsideMy last night there a mutual friend, Tammy, came out to visit and the three of us went up to the roof where there is a flower1large cement tub that Moya had filled with hot water and surrounded by candles. Friends just talking with the sounds of the jungle around us and the stars overhead.  Now, I ask you, can it possibly get any better than that?  After five days and four nights I felt like a new woman, or at least an improved version of the old one.  My mind was calmed and I could not only see the light at the end of the tunnel, it was bright.

So, thanks to friends, life is good again.  I still have to pay my bills, go to doctors, and pick up dog poo, but I wouldn’t want to do it anywhere else.  Cozumel is my home.  Salud!

IMG_0421p.s. a special thank you to: Moya, Sergio, Aisha, Lesli, Don Pedro, Donna, Sandra, Jean, Leonna, Jerry, Tammy, Richard, Carol, Myrna, Nelda, Larry, Rick, Tracey, Paula, Valli, Karen, Deborah, Luh, Maria, Joey, Mike, Joyce, Monica, Lynda Lee, Christi, Kathy, Kandy, Corki, Laura, Amethyst, Mary, Zazzu, Mariano, Sarahi, Roberto, and Edgar. A special loving thank you to Melinda, my oldest friend who has had the patience of a saint to hang in there, for 52 years, with the poster child of Murphy’s Law, wow!  I guess it really does take a village sometimes, but what an example of the kinds of folks who’ve chosen Cozumel as their home, yes?

bug

thornscolor

22 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Penelope Pope
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 05:14:43

    So glad to hear you are healing physically, but especially, emotionally. Enjoy living in Cozumel through your writing and sharing your life. Thank you.

    Reply

  2. corki
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 05:42:51

    so happy to hear the light at the end is so bright….and your here where you belong….big hugs coming your way…

    Reply

  3. Kandy
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 05:57:13

    I’m glad things have turned for you, Celia. Sometimes it just takes a bit of hard work and support to get back to the place we are at peace. 🙂

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Mar 04, 2014 @ 06:16:26

      and appreciate your thoughts and ideas much, Kandy, thank you………..we’ve got some great folks here, if you ever need anything, please let me know, time for me to start giving back 🙂

      Reply

  4. July Smith
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 06:03:46

    You have seen the tunnel & the light is now bright??? wow, girlfriend, it don’t get no better than that in my book.SO GRATEFUL you are up and back to it once again. I do not make light of the struggle you went thru, just blessed your among the rest of us living again. Good work on your part! Your Friend, July(there just could be something to all the 100’s of silent prayers that were sent your way..?)

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Mar 04, 2014 @ 06:15:13

      hmmmm, probably, thanks for all your support, July, very nice of you………….and what a place to do some healing, yes? Lovely people, home, and nature!! Enjoy the parade tonight (if you’re going, of course)

      Reply

  5. Cheryl
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 06:57:45

    Was so happy to see this post!! I am glad you have had lots of support and more adventure! I look forward to more of your blogs and pictures! Namaste.

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Mar 04, 2014 @ 07:02:45

      thanks, Cheryl, I’m looking forward to more as well……..oh, and if I called you Cherry one time, sorry, have two friends who comment, and the one is nicknamed Cherry………have a great day, and thanks for reading

      Reply

  6. Christi
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 08:53:33

    There is the Celia we know and love! Glad to have you back my friend and thank you for sharing your beautiful images and words with us! I am glad that I can help, even if in a small tiny way!

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Mar 04, 2014 @ 12:37:28

      me too, and let me thank you again, you were such a patient friend, big smile, and if you’re heading out there for the parade, hope you have a great time

      Reply

  7. SBC
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 08:58:50

    The jungle retreat looks stunning.

    Reply

  8. Maria walker
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 11:17:46

    You are an amazing woman, Celia. Those positive energies around you are all your doing. To say I admire you would be putting it mildly.

    Reply

  9. Kathy Watts
    Mar 04, 2014 @ 13:37:48

    Glorious, and glorious to read this my dear. Hugs.

    Reply

  10. Cindi
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 00:30:38

    I’d just been thinking about how long it’s been since I’d seen a new post from my blogger connection in Cozumel … and here you are. You are surrounded by good people; it was good to read of them and see your wonderful images!

    Reply

    • mexcelia
      Mar 05, 2014 @ 01:01:52

      Hi Cindi, good to see you, keeping warm, I hope. We both live in some pretty places, always helps in times of troubles, but, yes, good people are what makes the difference (and it sounded like I was lapsing in a Beatles song there for a second, gonna have that in my head all day now) take care

      Reply

  11. Fernando Manuel Alvarado Veiga
    Mar 05, 2014 @ 04:57:26

    Sergio and Moya are a nice couple that, in spite of the years stay in my memory as one of the best persons I had known in my life…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

